She Wanders // She Wonders

A great WordPress.com site

Poland – Krakow

1 Comment

In 2012 I visited Poland and wrote about it in my old blog. It turned out to be a very special place and one that I want to share here.

_MG_3195

Poland was quite honestly never a country I had thought about visiting…at least any time soon. It was a place I associated only with its terrible history and as much as I enjoy reading and watching documentaries about the war, I didn’t want to put myself into direct contact with the remnants of it. Thankfully my parents had been once before and loved it so much that they invited me to join them for a second visit. They didn’t need to ask me twice!

We arrived in Krakow thirty minutes ahead of schedule after a cosy two-hour trip crammed between two strangers; one of whom was almost falling asleep on my shoulder and the other who spent the entire flight playing Sudoku and what I decided was ‘political Hangman’ on his iPad. Each to their own I guess! Once out of the airport we had already arranged a taxi pick up to take us to the apartment we had rented. It would have been simple enough to take the train but we decided to opt for convenience (laziness) on this occasion.

Our apartment could not have been located in a better place! Well, not unless you plonked it in the middle of the Market Square. It was just a 5 minute walk into the city centre so nothing was far away. The apartment itself was beautiful and truly a home away from home and I’d recommend it over staying in a hotel to anyone.

Information about the apartment can be found here.

Krakow is a beautiful city rich in character and magic. There’s a certain buzz that you get from walking around that I haven’t quite felt anywhere else; it’s kind of hard to describe but I guess it’s a feeling of belonging. The atmosphere gently lures you in with welcoming arms and Pierogi at the ready. Be ready to fall for its charm!

_MG_2912

Like this? Follow me on Facebook by clicking here

Author: Simmy

I'm a 26 year youngling living on a small rock in the Mediterranean. I'm half English and half Maltese and have lived in Malta for about 12 years now. I love to travel, write, read, bake, practice being a yogi bear and I have a passion for music :) I love doing my part to help the world in any way I can and I'm a big animal lover!

One thought on “Poland – Krakow

  1. Pingback: The land of everything and more | She Wanders // She Wonders

Leave a Reply

